The September 2020 Used Motor Vehicle Dealer Board meeting minutes show that 13 routine inspections totaled to more than $13,000 in fines in Georgia.
The state fined most dealers $500. However, the Used Motor Vehicle Dealer Board reported the highest fine was $7,250. The report does not specify what the reasons for the fines are.
However, a total of 37 inspections processed with no violations.
The used motor vehicle dealer board and department of revenue in Georgia provide a list of fees and fines. These fines can be related to insurance or unlawful and criminal acts. For example, the steepest insurance fine comes from reinstating a policy after it was canceled for more than two offenses in a 5-year period due to failure to pay the insurance lapse fee.
The state requires dealers to maintain garage liability coverage, which is why it’s important to find a reliable agent that will help a dealer stay on top of their insurance needs.
The Dealer Title Ad Valorem Tax penalty is for not submitting TAVT within 30 days of purchase. The amount is 5% of TAVT due after day 30 and 5% additional every month thereafter.
Thoroughbred Dealer Services has helpful links and resources that can help you stay compliant.